• LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon

© 2023 by Kenneth Redditt

Misdemeanor FAQ 

Misdemeanors are violations of Tennessee law that may be punished by fine or confinement of less than one year, or a combination of both. Though these violations and their punishments are less serious than felonies, misdemeanors still have serious consequences, including jail time and fines, potential difficulties when applying for jobs, and effects on your criminal records.

 

Tennessee misdemeanors include a variety of offenses, including assault, theft up to $500, vandalism, and disorderly conduct. We represent clients for all misdemeanor crimes ranging from reckless driving to petty theft and simple possession.

Misdemeanors are divided into three categories for the purposes of sentencing: Class A, Class B, and Class C.

Class A misdemeanors are punishable by incarceration for a period not greater than 11 months, 29 days, or a fine not to exceed $2,500, unless otherwise provided by statute.

 

Class B misdemeanors are punishable by incarceration for a period not greater than 6 months or a fine not to exceed $500, unless otherwise provided by statute.

 

Class C misdemeanors are punishable by incarceration for a period not greater than 30 days or a fine not to exceed $50.00, unless otherwise provided by statute.